Beginner Question

To err is to be human, to help each other is joy. Tell your Compiere needs in your own words. Let's figure out together.

Moderator: azaharizaman

Beginner Question

Postby dvshetty » Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:43 pm

I have got 'no' knowledge of Java, i do have a limited knowledge of Oracle. Is it possible for me to deploy an ERP solution on Compiere without writing a piece of code i.e 'without modifying any of the source files'.

Regards,
:)
dvshetty
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 2:34 pm

Postby lofx » Fri Dec 10, 2004 6:48 pm

already replied in sourceforge...........................i hope....................
:lol:

regards,
lofx
Regular
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:55 pm

Postby red1 » Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:19 pm

Hi,
Well my answer is generally "Yes". Actually many scenarios can be achieved without code touching. You can see from one case in http://compiere.red1.org/vehicleSales.zip where there are now code changes but only Application Dictionary changes.

I did not read LOFX answer in sourceforge, but if there are changes then u can do it using the Callouts, as is shown in other tutorials here.

In all, Compiere is designed to avoid codings, as its mantra says "98% no source change needed". I like Compiere because this point is largely and wonderfully true.

You should also read the Compilo in http://sourceforge.net/projects/compilo that explains about the coding Compiere in general. And Marco Lombardo's latest contribution to compilo to do auto merging of App. Dictionary changes or versions is remarkable and Lofx should try it and contribute a howto there ;)

red1
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Return to Ask RED1 personally

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron