Upgrading ADempiereGWT

What Trunk or Branches to use and mix? Which is the Official version? How to survive growth?
Forum rules
This forum is personally pruned to avoid redundant posts. Related topics are moved to the same sub-forum. Language will be corrected for readability.

Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 1:46 am

I have upgraded ADempiereGWT as iDempiereGWT, bringing it forward from 2008, up to date which deprecates gxt.jar and Cypal Studio and many other broken parts.

To install a test case you have to setup your Eclipse to be Indigo and update it with Google App plugins. Then checkout the iDempiereGWT code here http://sourceforge.net/p/red1/small/19/ ... mpieregwt/

At the moment the upgrade is still in progress to fix those broken stuff and due to finish off in a week or so. The original contribution by eEvolution of MEXICO (thanks Victor!) was not maintained nor released into production and we hope to do so this time. This effort is sponsored by SYSNOVA of Bangladesh (thanks Zeeshan!).

You can also follow this movie at the bottom to get a better visual of how it is compiled and deployed.

red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:26 am

I have resolved the bug (took 4 days hacking in Bogota) that latest GWT 2.4 stops Enum constants from GWT's SerializationPolicy. Requires wrapping Enum LoginStage by another class, EnumWrap implements IsSerializable. Then in the /war/idempieregxt/*.gwt.rpc you can see LoginStage and EnumWrap has 'true,true,true,true' indicating whitelist acceptance.

Some role login issue due to modelvalidator is solved by putting right ADempiere.jars with its DB to run from (that will be uploaded with a runtime binary for GWT to test as a standalone).

Below is the login screen and then the Main Menu as well as Eclipse IDE debug mode. GWT here seems slow to respond likely due to development mode of running from Eclipse. The icon images can appear as per .css defined in the index.html. Top menu items seems not responding. However this seems to be similar to my old movie above and it can get the current DB models including the recent Fixed Assets. This is thus a good but crude basis to work on. The Debug As mode is also very handy for developers to trace code execution without extra setup in the Eclipse environment. Please continue to follow code and issue trackers here http://sourceforge.net/p/red1/tickets/

GWTLoginPanel.png
GWTLoginPanel.png (63.45 KiB) Viewed 23118 times

GWTDefault.png
GWTDefault.png (25.27 KiB) Viewed 23118 times

GWTOpsVew.png
GWTOpsVew.png (198.05 KiB) Viewed 23118 times

GWTDebug.png
GWTDebug.png (222.6 KiB) Viewed 23145 times


Code is checked into http://sourceforge.net/p/red1/small/23/ ... mpieregwt/
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby didiber » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:42 am

great work! :D
didiber
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:55 am

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:56 am

We can deploy the iDempiereGWT to the Web using the latest Tomcat 7. With some twigs solved along the way, I have created and uploaded the WAR below, (No i do not mean the war! :)) and some basic guide here to use it.

1. You still setup your ADempiere the normal way. Just that you won't be needing your bloated binary and JBoss application server. Just maintain the same adempiere properties and database.

2. Setup Tomcat server and launch it. Place the WAR in the webapps folder and it will extracts itself and you can see its contents as shown below.

WarExtracted.png
WarExtracted.png (65.12 KiB) Viewed 22899 times

3. Via the browser pointing to your Tomcat manager, notice the iDempiere application is started. Just click on its path link on the left and it shall open up the GWT UI in your Firefox browser.

TomcatiDempiere.png
TomcatiDempiere.png (175.69 KiB) Viewed 22899 times

To create the war, there is a WarBuilder.xml to create automatically, even deploy it direct to your Tomcat/WebApps/ folder.

WarBuilderXML.png
WarBuilderXML.png (103.06 KiB) Viewed 22899 times

Prior to building the war, you should have the GWT source made into a JAR in the LIB folder. That is also automatically done by launching the iD.jardesc as shown below.

GWTJarDesc.png
GWTJarDesc.png (214.57 KiB) Viewed 22899 times

The ADempiere jars inside the LIB folder are the latest as in SourceForge Download. You can replace them with your own ADempiere jars (after Step 2 above).

I have uploaded the iDempiereGWT.war, iD.jar and the tools to build them (WarBuilder.XML, iD.jardesc) to my trunk as usual.

If you are a normal user, then the iDempiereGWT.war running on your own instance is all you need. If you are a developer wishing to help me, then you can change the rest via the source. Please join in and give your valuable support.

NOTE to developers: Whenever you change anything in your GWT source in Eclipse, you just need to run the iD.jardesc and take the iD.jar and replace it in your Tomcat>WebApp>iDempiereGWT>WEB-INF>lib location. Then press the stop and start or reload buttons of the app in the Tomcat manager panel for iDempiereGWT. Then refresh your browser and the change appears. No stopping of the Tomcat service is necessary.

NOTE to users: At the moment to speed up things, i compiled the GWT to work on Gecko or FireFox browser. If you need it for other browsers just recompile in Eclipse but with the 'gecko' line removed in the gxt.xml file.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:07 am

Great news!

Be glad to be a tester. And as I said in FB - we can try to make this test public.


-------
Vladislav
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:57 am

One more question. Why GWT, not ZK?
It is experiment or a new way?
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:09 am

Well, ZK is very fine as it is perfected by Heng Sin. However there are some concerns as to commercialisation where ZK5 version are not allowed to be distributed as Open Source. Even though there are workarounds to this, there must be some backup plan based on more mainstream technologies such as Google. Let me give you another example such as Web Services and MessageQueue technology which I personally think Apache based ActiveMQ is very mainstream and thus the better guarantee of (1) widest community adoption and sustenance, (2) more communal forks in case of commercialisation.

GWT on its own is very interesting, (a) Google based technologies are marching strongly on the FOSS and community fronts of spawning a very diverse and disruptive range of technologies that we cannot ignore or stay far away from. (b) GWT's recent FactoryRequest and UIBinder handling has savings for client server development framework, promising more speed, scalability and better coupling with its other technologies.

However the iDempiereGWT as it is now, is still in its infancy. I am deeply entrenched studying the many new stuff mentioned above and i appreciate more brains and hands to help clear the bottleneck of upgrading it to the latest Google can offer.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:40 am

I've talk with ZK's managers. They said that if I use ZK for GPLed software, I can legaly use EE version free. It was half year ago. Don't think smth change from this moment.

Yes, i think you can legally use it but not necessarily distribute it in your binary. The workaround i referred to above is that we can then give the links to the binary for users to download and install themselves. - red1
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby allgood » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:54 am

Hi,

this is great news! I think that GWT is a strong and well designed tool! I hope i can contribute on making this work!

The ZK EE license is a problem too, since we cannot upgrade to the version 5 and distribute it together with our application. But i think that besides the license problem, we all will gain with GWT.

Best Regards,
Claudemir
allgood
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:44 am

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:44 pm

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1149

In this thread I've got a this reply:
"Hi,
We would be starting a zk6 port soon so you are welcome to contribute your current zk5 based solutions.
Regards,
Low"

It's mean the licensing of ZK not so bad?
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:02 pm

Certainly, see what a little bit of competition can bring? :) I guess by now that there is a need to maintain tango with competing providers of technologies and not lock into one particular choice. The competing major players will balance the net between the traffic and the netting stopping the fish into the net. One day Google may go AWOL on the licensing and without a backup plan, we be stuck.

This has happen with our own project over many stuff in it. From the ERP to the DB, from the language to the IDE, from the PDF to the JasperReports, even within Web Services, the stakeholders always try to squeeze via what else but some sort of monetary clause.

However there is a concern about resources which i won't worry too much because like you here, there are many on all sides of the fence. If you go one way, you find a community nevertheless.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:38 pm

Got "500 The call failed on the server; see server log for details" after login try in GWT .war
Tomcat7
ADEMPIERE_HOME=/Adempiere
Base install from AdempiereQSS360
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:58 pm

I didn't get that. You sure you turned everything else about ADempiere off? I do not need to turn on Adempiere apps service just my usual PG DB listener humming behind. Or check that ADempiere properties file path should be controlled somewhere but i reckoned if you got some pong from the server it must have know where to ping.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:03 pm

What I've done.
1. Install tomcat7 and postgres9
2. Install AdempiereQSS as usual.
3. Make RUN_setup
4. run RUN_ImportAdempiere to make DB
5. run JBOSS to check - how it's doing. All was ok
6. shutdown JBOSS
7. run tomcat with war
8. in Mozilla open iDempiereGWT, and see login window

Updated
----
"500 The call failed on the server; see server log for details" - and all logs (/Adempiere/log and tomcat catalina.out) are empty.
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:16 pm

127.0.0.1 - - [24/Feb/2012:16:14:00 +0300] "POST /iDempiereGWT/idempieregxt/adempiereService HTTP/1.1" 500 57

this is
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:12 am

You can put the adempiere and adempierClib jars from your adempiere home into the lib folder of the GWT. Then redeploy.
Or you can upgrade to the latest and apply all the migration scripts from QSS and build a new binary for silentsetup again. Again use the same jars for the GWT lib.

It has to work as it does work well in mine. I don't think i did anything special in mine. Can you access your DB via your DB editor? This is to see if it is there and alive.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:48 am

red1, you're the best.
The first method is works! Thank you!
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:47 pm

Great! If it works in Russia with a clean install, then it must work everywhere else! :). Your error report and final pass also can be a good FAQ for others to follow. Thanks for contributing it!
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby siberium » Sat Feb 25, 2012 3:52 pm

Not all so good in the next steps. Russia is a hard ;)
The System Admin menu is works good.Some other too. But some menus - windows not opening with error in catalina.log:
===========> AdempiereServiceImpl.saveError: Error getting WindowModel - getADWindow() Method - null [11]
===========> AdempiereServiceImpl.saveError: Error getting WindowModel - getADWindow() Method - null [11]

on the screen just "Loading"
For example: Open items -> Cash journal detail
------------
Regards
Vladislav
siberium
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Russia, Rostov-on-Don

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:16 pm

Only normal windows, master-detail ones are working. The others such as top menu bar, workflows, reports and processes that includes the Cash Journal detail i believe are not.
I hoping to solve them this coming days/weeks. Again, we appreciate any help.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Upgrading ADempiereGWT

Postby red1 » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:21 pm

Now we got a live demo site that is updated whenever i submit changes in the WAR. Try it here http://demo.idempiere.info/iDempiereGWT/ (contributed by our Russian community members, Vladislav Khrenov and Aleksey Sorokin. Read the trackers on development progress here http://sourceforge.net/p/red1/tickets/

Java developers who like to join to help finish the work please do so or write to me.
red1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Return to Building ADempiere

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron